Fantastic results at Blaise (Gwent League XC)

Gwent League XC - Blaise
The Senior Men’s race got off to a flying start

Many thanks to everyone who helped us host another fantastic Gwent League XC fixture at Blaise on Saturday!

Our volunteers were busy from 7 am setting up the course, manning the car park and marshalling the different races, as well as staying long after the last finisher to pack everything down. We simply couldn’t run the event without your help: thank you all so much for your time, energy and enthusiasm – and for making the event such a success.

We still managed to field a great turn-out of runners too, with many choosing to make their Gwent League XC debut on familiar home turf. Well done to you all!

Abdi Hasan (U15 boys) won a closely-fought race to bag a hat trick of wins this season, while Seamus Robinson (U11 boys) took second place in his race. Amelia Honor (U11 girls) took first place in her race, closely followed by Elen Ruck in her first ever Gwent League XC. The U17/20 girls also showed real strength in numbers with all 11 runners finishing in the top 25 positions.

Bridget White kindly took lots of photos: you can see pictures of the senior races on her Facebook page, Happy Snappy Crocodile, and photos of the junior races on the Westbury Harriers Facebook page.

Do make sure you put the next Gwent League XC date in your diaries too – we’ll be heading to Monmouth on Saturday 13 February for the penultimate fixture of the 2015/16 season! Look out for more details on Facebook soon.

Team Manager: Neil (

2 Seamus Robinson
8 Owain Davies
27 Finn Goodhew
43 George Peacock
58 Piers de Voil
62 Harry Broadhurst
84 Fred Peacock

4 Bryn Davies
8 James Harrod
15 Johan  Hobbs
38 Jack Broadhurst
41 Wilbur Hornby
50 Alex Hayward

1 Abdifataah Hasan
9 Aidan Noble
21 Greg Hayward
39 Sam Hopkins
41 Hugh Tarren
49 Adam Kilgour
52 Freddie  Livesey

12 Adam Wilson (Under 20)
18 Joe Connors (Under 20)
25 Josh Smith
26 Nick Uren

Team Manager: Simon (

1 Amelia Honor
2 Elen Ruck (debut Gwent League)
18 Abigail Woodworth
24 Megham Porteous
26 Hannah Jones (debut Gwent League)
35 Tanya Ghosh
44 Steph Hamilton-James (debut Gwent League)
50 Eve Saunder

6 Kate Howard
7 Rosie Hamilton-James
14 Emily Whitaker
17 Rhiannon Paton (debut Gwent League)
20 Charlotte Livesey
34 Molly Acton
46 Anora Davies

2 Ellie Hobbs
7 Isabel Smart
13 Phoebe Gould
32 Eve Varney
34 Isobel Parry

2 Hannah Hobbs
3 Ellie Wallace (debut Gwent League)
4 Ellie Leather
7 Rosie Allen
8 Sophie Reed
11 Ella Brimble
13 Steph Cummins
14 Emma Jones (Under 20)
17 Emma Tomes
18 Emma Taylor (Under 20)
24 Olivia Eskell (Under 20)

Team Manager: Tamsin (

8 Emma Journeaux
17 Katie Hughes
69 Kelly Winstone
84 Trish Robson
89 Maria Eriksson Hobbs
90 Tamsin Elson Chick
116 Jeni Cummins
124 Tony Jeffries
126 Ann Metherall
134 Anneke Bull
142 Jane Goodwin
145 Caroline Bull
150 Sandy Masters
152 Judy Knights
170 Sarah Tucker
174 Sandra Sforza
177 Svetlana Jones
186 Marilyn Palmer
197 Eithne Noonan
202 Victoria Sloan

Team Manager: Robin (

25 Oli Beale
33 Nick Smart (V45)
69 Alex Hamblin  (U23)
73 Dave Hobbs (V45)
99 Oliver  Jougla
129 Rick Wallis (V55)
137 Richard Noble (V45)
152 Robin Nash (V55)
163 Ian Ruck (V45)
169 Ewan Kilgour (V45)
185 Chris Beck (V45)
214 Mike Mewse (V60)
275 Ewan Paton (V45)
303 Jullian Bailey-Gard (Sr) (V60)
329 Mike Harris (V60)