Muddy XC in Monmouth

The start of the Senior Men's race
The start of the Senior Men’s race

Well done to everyone who took part in the penultimate Gwent League XC on Saturday in Monmouth in chilly, wet and muddy conditions!

Many Westbury juniors were away for half-term, but those that were able to run put in some great performances, with Ellie Wallace and Rosie Allen taking first and second places respectively in the U17/U20 race.

The Senior Ladies tackled a slightly longer course than usual, but many had their best run of the season so far. Katie Hughes led the squad home with an impressive run to finish just outside the top ten, while new member Kate Young ran her first ever XC race to finish in an excellent 67th place. Mother and daughter duo, Anneke and Caroline Bull, finished together shortly behind.

Abdi Hasan went on to place second place in the U15 race
Abdi Hasan went on to place second place in the U15 race

Do make sure you put the next Gwent League XC date in your diaries – time to head to Brecon on Saturday 5 March for the final fixture of the 2015/16 season! Look out for more details on Facebook soon.

Team Manager: Neil (

60 Finn Goodhew

2 Abdi Hasan
19  Greg Hayward
28 Jude Barnhem
29 Fred Stewart
32 Adam Kilgour
35 Freddie Livesey


9 Adam Wilson
12 Joe Connors

Ellie Wallace took gold in the U17/U20 race
Ellie Wallace took gold in the U17/U20 race

Team Manager: Simon (

15 Ruby Saunders
16 Abigail Woodworth
17 Tanaya Ghosh
34 Elen Ruck
41 Esme Pykett
45 Martha Pykett
53 Eve Saunders

5 Kate Howard
12 Charlotte Livesey
32 Molly Acton
37 Lalana Ghosh

33 Isobel Parry

1 Ellie Wallace
2 Rosie Allen
4 Sophie Reed
8 Emma Jones
13 Georgia Taylor

Team Manager: Tamsin (

12 Katie Hughes
32 Vicky Tester
40 Kelly Winstone
41 Maria Eriksson Hobbs
46 Tamsin Elson Chick
67 Kate Young
79 Caroline Bull
80 Anneke Bull
100 Sarah Tucker
109 Victoria Sloan
124 Marilyn Palmer
143 Eithne Noonan

Team Manager: Robin (

23 Oli Beale
39 Nick Smart
41 Alex Hamblin
52 Olivier Jougla
71 Dan Ewing
83 Robin Phillips
99 Rick Wallis
109 Richard Noble
146 Ewan Kilgour
148 Mike Mewse
238 Mike Harris