Fantastic start to Gwent League

Westbury's Senior Ladies, Bridgend
Westbury’s Senior Ladies, Bridgend

Thank you to everyone who turned out for the first Gwent League fixture in Bridgend on Sunday – we got off to a flying start to the season, with some particularly impressive performances from our juniors.

Seamus Robinson (U11 boys), Abdifataah Hasan (U15 boys), Ruby Saunders (U11 girls) and Hannah Hobbs (U17 girls) all ran superbly to win their races, while Aidan Noble (U15 boys), Amelia Honor (U11 girls) and Kate Howard (U13 girls) came second in their age groups. The strength and depth of the junior teams was also highlighted in their combined results, with three U15 boys placing in the top 10 and five U17 girls placing in the top 20.

Meanwhile, though slightly down on usual numbers, the Senior Ladies still managed to field their strongest V45 and V55 squads, with Maria Eriksson Hobbs, third Westbury scorer, leading the V45 team home with one of her strongest cross-country runs to date.

The next fixture will be held in Cardiff on Sunday 8 November – please put the date in your diaries now, and look out for more details soon. If you’re interested in taking part in cross country, we’d love to hear from you – make sure you read our quick guide  and contact your team manager (details below) for more information.

Team Manager: Neil (

1 Seamus Robinson

20 Johan Hobbs

1 Abdifataah Hasan
2 Aidan Noble
8 Ben Rawlins
52 Freddie Livesey

30 Adam Wilson (Under 20)
34 Joe Connors (Under 20)
35 Ben Whitaker
37 Peter Barnes (Under 20)
54 Josh Smith

Team Manager: Simon (

1 Ruby Saunders
2 Amelia Honor
16 Meghan Porteous
23 Abigail Woodwoth
24 Tanaya Ghosh

2 Kate Howard
7 Rosie Hamilton-James
20 Charlotte Livesey
23 Lalana Ghosh
56 Molly Acton

5 Ellie Hobbs
24 Isabel Smart
29 Anne Jones
36 Eve Varney
41 Phoebe Gould
45 Charlotte Howard
50 Isobel Parry

1 Hannah Hobbs
4 Ellie Leather
10 Sophie Reed
11 Emma Taylor (Under 20)
16 Ella Brimble
19 Emma Tomes
23 Sophie Nash (Under 20)
29 Georgia Taylor
34 Olivia Eskell (Under 20)

Team Manager: Tamsin (

32 Katie Elliott
38 Kelly Winstone
60 Maria Eriksson Hobbs
70 Trish Robson
104 Tamsin Elson Chick
134 Anneke Bull
142 Shirley Hume
161 Sandra Sforza
171 Sarah Tucker
176 Svetlana Jones
180 Smita Ghosh
204 Carol Fee
205 Eithne Noonan
212 Victoria Sloan

Team Manager: Robin (

54 Nick Smart
126 Robin Phillips
160 Rick Wallis
164 Richard Noble
167 Robin Nash
192 Tim Whitaker
253 Nick Elliot
268 James O’Halloran (guest)
311 Julian Bailey-Gard (Snr)
322 Mike Harris
349 Ian Smith
357 James Winstone